New and updated

  • Type:
    Legal timetable

    The Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia join the European Union, as agreed by the Accession Treaty signed in Athens Athens on 16 April 2003. The European Union (Accessions) Act 2003 provides a power to grant nationals of these countries the same rights to work in the United Kingdom from 1 May 2004 as are enjoyed by nationals of the states in the European Economic Area (EEA).

About this topic

HR and legal information and guidance relating to Malta.