What issues should employers take into account when organising the catering for work-related social events?

Employers must take care to avoid disadvantaging anyone whose religion forbids alcohol by ensuring plenty of non-alcoholic alternatives. They should remember that employees of certain religious beliefs may be vegetarian or unable to eat certain foods, such as pork or beef. Employers should ask beforehand about any special dietary requirements, whether related to religion or not, so that these can be accommodated.