Freedom of movement for EU nationals in UK comes to an end

Implementation date: 1 January 2021

The Immigration and Social Security Co-ordination (EU Withdrawal) Act 2020 ends free movement for European Economic Area (EEA) and Swiss citizens, and their family members, in the UK, so that from the end of the Brexit transition period, they will be subject to immigration controls. Under long-standing existing arrangements, Irish citizens can continue to enter, live and work in the UK without permission. The main provisions of the Act will be commenced by regulations.