New countries join the European Union

Implementation date: 1 May 2004

The Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia join the European Union, as agreed by the Accession Treaty signed in Athens on 16 April 2003. The European Union (Accessions) Act 2003 provides a power to grant nationals of these countries the same rights to work in the United Kingdom from 1 May 2004 as are enjoyed by nationals of the states in the European Economic Area (EEA). The Act and explanatory notes can be viewed on the OPSI website.
More from XpertHR on this item: European Industrial Relations Review; Personnel Today